The SouthEastern Arizona Governments Organization (SEAGO) is a regional planning agency which performs and coordinates a variety of functions. Established in 1972, SEAGO is a 501(c)3, nonprofit organization whose core function is to assist local governments in seeking cooperative solutions to area wide problems; to provide a forum for regional policy development; and to serve as a coordinating link between municipal, county, tribal, state, and federal agencies. SEAGO serves the four counties of Cochise, Graham, Greenlee, and Santa Cruz. SEAGO’s programs focus on issues that often cross jurisdictional boundaries, such as water quality, community and economic development initiatives, transportation, aging and social service issues, and the need for affordable, accessible housing. Originally a planning entity, SEAGO’s operational scope has expanded considerably since its inception to include project programming and implementation activities in the areas of housing, economic development, social services, transportation, the environment, and public transit.  The State of Arizona has been divided into the six regional Councils of Governments (COGs), as shown in the graphic below. To access more information regarding each Arizona COG go to the Maricopa Association of Governments web site at: http://azmag.gov/archive/AZ-COGs/index.asp

What Is a Council of Governments?

A Council of Governments (COG), or Regional Council, is a public organization encompassing a multi-jurisdictional regional community. A COG serves the local governments and the citizens in the region by dealing with issues and needs that cross city, town, county, and even state boundaries. Mechanisms used to address these issues may include communication, planning, policymaking, coordination, advocacy, and technical assistance. 

SEAGO Board of Directors 

The Executive Board, is SEAGO's Board of Directors, which is responsible for formulation of policy for the Organization, adoption of a budget, establishment of fees and/or assessments, approving, rejecting or deferring action on any SEAGO business, and the employment and dismissal of an Executive Director.  The Executive Board is comprised of one elected official from each of the 19 local government entities: Cochise County, Benson, Bisbee, Douglas, Huachuca City, Sierra Vista, Tombstone, Willcox, Graham County, Pima, Safford,Thatcher, Greenlee County, Clifton, Duncan, Santa Cruz County, Nogales, Patagonia, and the San Carlos Apache Tribe. The Board also contains five private sector representatives.  There is one private sector representative from Graham, Greenlee and Santa Cruz Counties, but because the population of Cochise County exceeds 100,000 it is allowed two private sector representatives on the Executive Board.  To download a copy of the 2016 calendar year meeting schedule of the Executive Board, please click here .

SEAGO Administrative Council

The Administrative Council is comprised of one appointed official from each of the 19 local government entities listed above.  Each entity's representative on the Administrative Council is the city, town or county manager, city or town clerk, or their delegate.  The Administrative Council meets two weeks before each regular meeting of the Executive Board and makes recommendations on all business to be considered by the Board.  To download a copy of the 2016 calendar year meeting schedule of the Administrative Council, please click here .  

Administrative and Executive Committees

The Administrative Committee (comprised of the officers of the Administrative Council) and the Executive Committee (comprised of the officers of the Executive Board), are empowered under the current SEAGO Bylaws to conduct program related, time sensitive business that must be accomplished in between regular meetings of the full Administrative Council and Executive Board.  The Administrative Council and Executive Board meet only four times per year.  Calling special meetings of the entire Administrative Council (with 19 members) and Executive Board (with 24 members) to conduct business in between regular meetings is extremely difficult, even when several months' notice is provided.  As a result, the Bylaws were amended to form the Committees in order to reduce quorum requirements so that business that could not wait until the next regular meeting could be conducted.  The Administrative and Executive Committees typically hold four meetings over each calendar year.  To download a copy of the 2016 calendar year meeting schedule of the Committees, please click here .  

Mission and Vision Statements

Mission Statement:

SEAGO stimulates economic and social progress in our four-county region.

Vision Statement:

SEAGO, as a highly motivated, energetic team, commits to being a respected, credible source of leadership, information, funding, technical expertise and services.


Main Location

1403 West Highway 92, Bisbee, AZ 85603

AAA Location

300 Collins Road, Bisbee, AZ 85603 

© 2015 SouthEastern Arizona Governments Organization.